Arts-Scène Diffusion

Telemann: The Harmonischer Gottes-Dienst

Telemann: The Harmonischer Gottes-Dienst

version soprano, violin, harpsichord or organ


A tireless and brilliant composer, Telemann, as a good Lutheran, published in Leipzig in 1725–26 a cycle of 72 sacred cantatas. Published in three volumes, they cover a complete liturgical year and are destined for a solo voice, the basso continuo and a solo instrument (flute, recorder, oboe or violin). The formal unicity adds further coherence to this cycle: each of these cantatas is composed of two da capo arias surrounding a central recitative. Among the six cantatas for soprano, violin and basso continuo, Rosasolis has gathered four, which the profane Sonate Metodiche echo, genuine gems of the art of instrumental ornamentation. 


Cantata for the Pentecost, Schmückt das frohe Fest mit Maien (TVWV 1-1256)

Methodical Sonata n°7, for violin and continuo

Cantata for John the Baptist's day, Die Kinder des Höchsten sind rufende Stimmen (TVWV 1:349)

Cantata for the Exaudi (Sunday between the Ascension and the Pentecost), Erwachet, entreisst euch den sündlichen Träumen (TVWV 1-480)

Methodical Sonata n°12, for violin and continuo

Cantata for the Annunciation's day: Gott will Mensch und sterblich werden (TVWV 1:694)