Arts-Scène Diffusion

Qia-Xiao

Hao-Fu-Zhang

Qia-Xiao

Cyprès, 2005

Jean-Michel Charlier clarinet, bass clarinet
QUATUOR DANEL 
Marc Danel first violoin
Gilles Millet second violin
Tony Nys viola
Guy Danel cello



Like a man in search of his soul, Hao-Fu Zhang has taken the high road. Ears pricked, he draws inspiration from sources that defy time and space. Formulated in the light of contemporary Western techniques, his music presents itself to our ears as a pathway to Eastern thought. Having studied composition and acquired sound training in harmony and counterpoint at the conservatory of his native city, Xian, he left China for Europe. In residence at IRCAM, then teacher at the Royal Brussels Conservatory, he has never ceased to develop a creative activity recognised for its stylistic distinction and its great spiritual scope.
The stupefaction provoked one evening in 1997 by the unexpected announcement of the death of his teacher and friend Edison Denisov was a catalyst for the composition of his Second Quartet, a hauntingly obsessional work, the construction of which speaks out to us every time and brings us obstinately back to a feeling of affliction. By contrast, the source of inspiration for the Third Quartet is drawn from the folksongs of the high tablelands of Qinghai, discovered by the composer in the course of musicological research in that region. The adopted structure, a large-scale free fugue, is as much a celebration for the mind as a delight for the senses. This piece breathes the joie de vivre of a composer sure of his craft who gives full rein to the means at his disposal. The inspiration behind Qin-Xiao, a quintet with clarinet commissioned by the Danel Quartet for their tenth anniversary, was the combination of the modes of play of some early instruments, the first traces of which date back to the Han dynasty. The ?qin? is a seven-stringed zither, the ?xiao? a straight bamboo flute. This gives the work an ancient feel tinged with the innovative character of a contemporary composition.
The performance of the Danel Quartet and Jean-Michel Charlier shows the enthusiasm and the conviction that characterise their work with contemporary composers from diverse horizons. The brilliance of this group is well established on the international scene, and is marked by a genuine complicity with Hao-Fu Zhang?s stylistic approach.
At a time when Western society seems to be discovering the culture and the extent of the Chinese population with an interest tinged at times with disquiet, we have the opportunity of discovering an enlightened forerun-ner who, as the apostle of a ?universal human culture?, attempts to throw bridges between these two cultures. This is innovative music of instant charm that never falls into the rut of either contemporary or Asiatic music.

Arts-Scène Diffusion

Qia-Xiao

Hao-Fu-Zhang

Qia-Xiao

Cyprès, 2005

Jean-Michel Charlier clarinette, clarinette basse
QUATUOR DANEL 
Marc Danel premier violon
Gilles Millet second violon
Tony Nys alto
Guy Danel violoncelle



Tel un homme à la recherche de son âme, Hao-Fu Zhang a pris le chemin des hauteurs. Tendant l’oreille, il a puisé aux sources qui défient le temps et l’espace. Formulée à la lumière des techniques de l’occident contemporain, sa musique offre à nos oreilles une voie d’accès à la pensée de l’orient. Après avoir étudié la composition et avoir acquis une solide formation en écriture musicale au conservatoire de sa ville natale, Xian, il quitte la Chine pour l’Europe. En résidence à l’IRCAM puis professeur au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles, il n’a de cesse de développer une création reconnue pour la distinction de son écriture et sa haute portée spirituelle.
La stupeur provoquée, un soir de 1997, par l’annonce de la  mort de son maître et ami Edison Denisov, a déclenché la composition du Deuxième quatuor à cordes. Œuvre lancinante et obsessionnelle qui nous interpelle à chaque fois par sa construction et nous ramène obstinément à notre sentiment d’affliction. La source d’inspiration du Troisième quatuor est différente : elle puise don inspiration des chants folkloriques des hauts plateaux du Qinghai découverts par le compositeur lors de ses enquêtes musicologiques en cette région. La structure adoptée, une grande fugue libre, est autant une fête pour l’esprit qu’un enchantement pour la sensibilité. Cette pièce respire la joie de vivre d’un compositeur sûr de son métier qui joue de ses moyens en toute liberté. Qin-Xiao, quintette avec clarinette commandé par le Quatuor Danel pour leur dixième anniversaire, est inspiré de combinaisons de jeux d’instruments antiques dont les premières traces remontent à la dynastie Han. Le « qin » est une cithare à sept cordes, le « xiao », une flûte droite en bambou. Ceci donne à cette œuvre une saveur à l’ancienne teintée d’innovations d’une composition d’aujourd’hui.
L’interprétation du Quatuor Danel et de Jean-Michel Charlier témoigne de leur enthousiasme et de leur conviction dans leur travail avec des compositeurs contemporains d’horizons variés. Nous retrouvons le brio de cette formation très établie sur la scène internationale, teinté de la complicité réelle avec la démarche d’écriture de Hao-Fu Zhang
A l’heure où la société occidentale semble redécouvrir, avec un intérêt parfois teinté d’inquiétudes, la culture et l’étendue de la population chinoise, l’occasion nous est ici donnée de découvrir un éclaireur avisé qui tente de jeter des ponts entre ces deux cultures en apôtre d’une « culture humaine universelle ». Une œuvre innovante et immédiatement séduisante ne tombant ni dans les clichés de la musique contemporaine, ni dans ceux de la musique asiatique.