Arts-Scène Diffusion

Armonía Divina y Humana

Armonía Divina y Humana

Hispano-American canciones, villancicos and cachuas of the 16th and 17th centuries

 

On 12 October 1492 history changed forever. Christopher Columbus’s arrival in America and the subsequent discovery of that vast continent by the Spanish led to the greatest economic, political, religious and demographic upheavals that humanity had ever known. Spain and Portugal divided the world between them by the 1494 Treaty of Tordesillas, and it was the former above all that would play its cards right to become the first global power, the empire on which “the sun never set”, thanks to the gold and silver of the New World.

The legend of the American Eldorado gave rise to large-scale transatlantic migration, leading to the colonisation and Christianisation of the new territories. The Spanish crown established an administration on the Castilian model and set up viceroyalties which, though in theory subject to the crown, in reality enjoyed considerable power and independence. These were effectively courts, the most important being in Mexico and Peru, and they constructed palaces and cathedrals which would become centres of intense intellectual and artistic activity.

The arrival of the Europeans and subsequently of black African slaves led to a degree of interbreeding that varied from place to place. The indigenous peoples, though not allowed to be enslaved, were systematically discriminated against and sometimes even exterminated. The cultural intermingling also had consequences at an artistic level. The Spanish imported a musical style grounded in the European polyphonic tradition as well as a large number of instruments, in particular stringed instruments. Missionary activity placed great stress on singing and music was ever-present, in the church as much as in the street. Moreover, a particular characteristic of Latin American music was that so-called ‘popular’ instruments (such as guitars, percussion and wind instruments), as well as indigenous and African rhythms, were not merely tolerated but encouraged by the religious authorities in church music. This brought about an unusually strong and fervent connection between the indigenous peoples and the gospel – a connection that persists even now. Art music also attained an important place thanks to the presence of music directors from Europe who worked in the important dioceses such as Lima and Mexico.

In this programme we aim to showcase the richness, beauty and variety of the musical styles current in America in the 16th and 17th centuries, highlighting the originality that they gained from the incorporation of folk elements and the universality that resulted from the encounter between Europe, America and Africa. We also feature several tonos by José Marín, as well as airs in Spanish published in France at the time of Louis XIII, so proving – if proof were necessary – that music knows no boundaries, but travels the world and will always do so.

This programme receives its first performance as part of Il Festino’s residency at the Lanvellec Festival in October 2017.

 

Dagmar Saskova & Barbara Kusa, voices
Eric Bellocq, guitars & lutes
Maria Christina Cleary, harp
Laurent Sauron, percussion
Manuel de Grange, guitar, lute & direction

 

Videos

Armonía Divina y Humana

 


Folders

Armonía Divina y Humana
Armonía Divina y Humana

Arts-Scène Diffusion

Armonía Divina y Humana

Armonía Divina y Humana

Canciones, villancicos et cachuas hispano-américains aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles

 

Le 12 octobre 1492 l’Histoire change pour toujours. L’arrivée de Cristophe Colomb en Amérique et la découverte consécutive de ce vaste continent par les Espagnols provoquera les plus grands bouleversements économiques, politiques, religieux et démographiques que l’humanité ait connu jusqu’alors. L’Espagne et le Portugal se partagent le monde par le Traité de Tordesillas de 1494 et ce seront surtout les premiers qui tireront leur épingle du jeu pour devenir la première puissance mondiale, l’empire où “le soleil ne se couche jamais” grâce à l’or et l’argent provenant du Nouveau Monde.

Le fantasme de l’Eldorado américain provoquera une émigration outre-atlantique massive entraînant la colonisation et l’évangélisation des nouveaux territoires. La couronne espagnole implantera une administration selon le modèle castillan et instaurera des vice-royautés qui, bien que soumises théoriquement à la couronne, auront en réalité un pouvoir et une indépendance considérables. Ces véritables cours, dont les plus importantes se situeront au Mexique et au Pérou, ont érigé des palais et des cathédrales où s’est développée une intense activité intellectuelle et artistique. 

L’arrivée des Européens et, plus tard, des esclaves noirs en provenance d’Afrique, provoquera un métissage plus ou moins marqué selon les lieux. Les peuples autochtones, bien qu’ayant un statut qui les préservait de l’esclavage, seront systématiquement discriminés et parfois même exterminés. Ce brassage multiculturel aura des conséquences également sur le plan artistique. En effet, les Espagnols apporteront un style musical héritier de la tradition polyphonique européenne ainsi qu’un grand nombre d’instruments, en particulier à cordes. L’évangélisation accordera une place très importante au chant et la musique sera omniprésente, aussi bien dans l’église que dans la rue. Par ailleurs, et cela constituera une particularité de la musique ibéro-américaine, les instruments dits “populaires” (guitares, percussions, vents…) ainsi que les rythmes autochtones et d’origine africaine seront non seulement tolérés mais encouragés par les autorités religieuses pour jouer la musique sacrée, créant ainsi des liens entre les peuples indigènes et l’évangile d’une intensité et d’une ferveur remarquables, liens qui perdurent jusqu’à nos jours. La musique savante trouvera également une place importante grâce à la présence de maîtres de chapelle venant d’Europe qui travailleront dans les grands évêchés comme Lima et Mexico.

A travers ce programme nous souhaitons mettre en évidence la richesse, la beauté et la variété des styles musicaux présents en Amérique aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles, leur originalité de par l’assimilation d’éléments populaires et leur universalité grâce à la rencontre de l’Europe, l’Amérique et l’Afrique. Nous incorporerons également quelques tonos de José Marín et des airs en espagnol édités en France au temps de Louis XIII, ce qui prouve, si besoin est, que la musique n’a pas de frontières, qu’elle voyage et qu’elle continuera à le faire pour toujours.

Création dans le cadre de la résidence de l’ensemble Il Festino au Festival de Lanvellec en octobre 2017

 

Dagmar Saskova & Barbara Kusa, chant
Eric Bellocq, guitares & luths
Maria Christina Cleary, harpe
Laurent Sauron, percussions
Manuel de Grange, guitare, luth & direction

 

Vidéos

Armonía Divina y Humana

 


Dossiers

Armonía Divina y Humana
Armonía Divina y Humana