Arts-Scène Diffusion

L'Achéron

EARLY MUSIC

Youth cantatas, Georg Friedrich Händel

with Deborah Cachet, soprano

Georg Friedrich HÄNDEL was in his twenties when he travelled to Italy, the rite of passage for any artist at the beginning of the XVIIIth century. Initially invited to Florence by Gian’ Gastone de Medici, he remained there for several months, followed by a stay in Venice where he composed his cantata Figlio d’alte speranze in 1706. But it was in Rome that Handel settled and met various patrons such as cardinals Ottoboni, Pamphili and Ruspoli, for whom he composed most of the 60 cantatas written during this transalpine journey. From 1706 to 1709 Handel travelled between Rome, Naples, Florence and Venice, meeting Antonio Vivaldi, Alessandro and Domenico Scarlatti as well as Arcangelo Corelli with whom he frequently played.

These cantatas were played in the reception rooms of Handel’s patrons, whose protégé he had become. For example on Sundays during Cardinal Ruspoli’s Conversazioni at the Accademia degli Arcadi, more often with a single singer and a few accompanying instruments. The cantatas can be situated somewhere between chamber music and opera, and were for Handel a means of experimenting with elements he was to use later on in larger works, rather like miniature operas. The cantatas played here present classical figures: Armide, Agrippina, Abdolomyne.

Despite his youth Handel’s style was already well defined, showing his mastery of the stile moderno and announcing the beginnings of bel canto where the voice no longer only serves the drama in long recitals typical of the XVIIth century, but becomes descriptive and virtuoso in more developed arias. The subtlety and sophistication of these cantatas herald the genius of Handel’s later operas composed in England.

 

6 musicians soprano, 2 violins, viol, archlute, harpsichord

Videos

Deborah Cachet & L'Achéron - G. F. Händel, Brillava Protetto

Georg Friedrich Händel - Cantata "Figlio d'alte speranze" HWV 113 Brillava protetto

Deborah Cachet, soprano

L'Achéron
Marie Rouquié & Amandine Solano, violins
André Henrich, archlute
Yoann Moulin, harpsichord
François Joubert-Caillet, bass viol & direction

Live at Amuz (Antwerpen, Belgium) the 16/02/20
Recorded by Klara Radio
Photo by Caroline Lequeux


Folders

Cantates de jeunesse - Händel (fr)
Cantates de jeunesse - Händel (fr)
Youth Cantatas, Händel (en)
Youth Cantatas, Händel (en)

NEWS

Handel Cantatas with Deborah Cachet

Listen to an extract (Georg Friedrich Händel - Cantata "Figlio d'alte speranze" HWV 113) from the concert of l'Acheron &…

Read more

Listen to an extract (Georg Friedrich Händel - Cantata "Figlio d'alte speranze" HWV 113) from the concert of l'Acheron & Deborah Cachet given to AMUZ last February dedicated to Handel's youth cantatas & recorded by Radio Klara.

A consort's monument: Press!

With his latest CD, L’Acheron entitled A consort’s monument returns to English music for consort of viol, and is joined…

Read more

With his latest CD, L’Acheron entitled A consort’s monument returns to English music for consort of viol, and is joined by a positive organ and a virginal.

Resmusica praises it in this May 10 article:

On the whole, the keyboard instruments played colla parte blend so well with the sound of the violas that you sometimes have to listen to make sure they are there. If we can say of a consort of quality viol that it sounds like an organ, in reference to the homogeneity of the timbres, this is the case of L’Achéron. It’s even more obvious here, when the organ mixes with the violas. Three short moments allow us to hear the keyboard instruments ring alone, in improvisations on themes of the time. The summit is an improvisation on a Simpson Ground played jointly with the organ and the virginal, where Philippe Grisvard and Yoann Moulin assault on inventiveness in a perfect balance.


This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website you are giving consent to cookies being used.

Arts-Scène Diffusion

L'Achéron

MUSIQUE ANCIENNE

Cantates de jeunesse, Georg Friedrich Händel

avec Deborah Cachet, soprano

Georg Friedrich HÄNDEL a une vingtaine d’années lorsqu’il se rend en Italie, le voyage obligé pour tout artiste au début du XVIIIème siècle : tout d’abord invité par Gian’ Gastone de Medici à Florence, il y passe quelques temps ainsi qu’à Venise où il compose sa cantate Figlio d’alte speranze en 1706, mais c’est surtout à Rome que Händel va séjourner et faire la rencontre de divers mécènes tels que les cardinaux Ottoboni, Pamphilj et Ruspoli pour lesquels il composera le plus grand nombre des 60 cantates qu’il écrira durant ce séjour transalpin. De 1706 à 1709, Händel va voyager entre Rome, Naples, Florence et Venise, il va y croiser Antonio Vivaldi, Alessandro et Domenico Scarlatti ainsi qu’Arcangelo Corelli avec lequel il jouera fréquemment.

Ces cantates ont été jouées dans les salons des mécènes dont Händel était devenu le protégé, comme par exemple les dimanches lors des Conversazioni de l’Accademia degli Arcadi chez le Cardinal Ruspoli à Rome, avec le plus souvent un seul chanteur et quelques instruments l’accompagnant. Elles se situent entre la musique de chambre et l’opéra et sont pour Händel le moyen d’expérimenter les éléments qu’il utilisera ensuite dans des oeuvres plus larges : des sortes d’opéras miniatures. Les cantates proposées ici mettent en scène des personnages classiques : Armide (Armida abbandonata), Agrippine (Agrippina condotta a morire) et Abdolonyme (Figlio d’alte speranze). 

Malgré sa jeunesse, le style de Händel est déjà bien défini, il montre sa maîtrise pour le stile moderno et l’avénement du bel canto où la voix ne sert plus uniquement le drame dans les longs récits typiques de la première moitié du XVIIème siècle, mais également de manières descriptive et virtuose dans des airs plus développés. Ces cantates sont d’une grande finesse, laissant présager le génie des opéras que Händel composera ensuite en Angleterre.

 

6 musiciens soprano, 2 violons, viole de gambe, archiluth, clavecin

Vidéos

Deborah Cachet & L'Achéron - G. F. Händel, Brillava Protetto

Georg Friedrich Händel - Cantate "Figlio d'alte speranze" HWV 113 Brillava protetto

Deborah Cachet, soprano

L'Achéron
Marie Rouquié & Amandine Solano, violons
André Henrich, archlute
Yoann Moulin, clavecin
François Joubert-Caillet, basse et direction basse

Live à Amuz (Anvers, Belgique) le 16/02/20
Enregistré par Klara Radio
Photo de Caroline Lequeux


Dossiers

Cantates de jeunesse - Händel
Cantates de jeunesse - Händel
Youth Cantatas, Händel (en)
Youth Cantatas, Händel (en)

ACTUALITÉ

Focus programme: Loves Farewell

Il s’agit là de la toute dernière création de l’Acheron ce printemps, un programme constitué d’Ayres pour voix & viole…

Lire la suite

Il s’agit là de la toute dernière création de l’Acheron ce printemps, un programme constitué d’Ayres pour voix & viole crée en l’abbatiale de Saint Michel en Thiérache début juin et qui réunit La mezzo-soprano Lila Hajosi  et François Joubert-Caillet aux violes de gamme.

Plus de détails sur ce programme

A consort's monument: Presse!

Avec son dernier CD, L’Acheron intitulé A consort’s monument revient à la musique anglaise pour consort de violes, et s’adjoint le…

Lire la suite

Avec son dernier CD, L’Acheron intitulé A consort’s monument revient à la musique anglaise pour consort de violes, et s’adjoint le concours d’un orgue positif et d’un virginal.

Resmusica en fait l’éloge dans cet article du 10 mai:

Dans l’ensemble, les instruments à clavier joués colla parte se mêlent si bien à la sonorité des violes qu’il faut parfois tendre l’oreille pour s’assurer de leur présence. Si l’on peut dire d’un consort de violes de qualité qu’il sonne comme un orgue, en référence à l’homogénéité des timbres, c’est bien le cas de L’Achéron. C’est encore plus flagrant ici, quand l’orgue se mêle ainsi aux violes. Trois courts moments nous permettent d’entendre les instruments à clavier sonner seuls, dans des improvisations sur des thèmes de l’époque. Le sommet est une improvisation sur un Ground de Simpson jouée conjointement à l’orgue et au virginal, où Philippe Grisvard et Yoann Moulin font assaut d’inventivité dans un parfait d’équilibre

Lire l’article complet


Ce site utilise des cookies. En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies.