Arts-Scène Diffusion

Ensemble Contraste


Handel's Messiah

Considered the masterpiece of the genre, The Messiah is an oratorio composed in 1741 in London by Georg Friedrich Haendel. His text mainly refers to the resurrection of the Messiah and the redemption it operates. The work was completed in just 24 days.

The version for chamber music staff offered by the Contraste ensemble (string quartet, positive organ and 4 singers) is based on an anonymous arrangement from the 18th century. It highlights the genius of this work, both in its orchestral and vocal lines, emphasizing the exuberance of the choirs.
With an initial duration of 2:30, reduced here to 1:30, this version retains the dramatic framework and its most striking tunes.

The concert can be preceded by a vocal learning session for the public around the famous Alleluia.


Amélie Raison soprano
Eleanor Feix alto
Etienne Duhil de Benazé tenor
Igor Bouin bass baritone


The Contraste Ensemble
Arnaud Thorette & Johan Farjot direction
Arnaud Thorette & Anaïs Perrin violins
Maria Mosconi alto
Barbara Leliepvre cello
Johan Farjot positive organ


Duration: 1h30 with intermission


Handel's Messiah (fr)
Handel's Messiah (fr)

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website you are giving consent to cookies being used.