Arts-Scène Diffusion

Pascal Amoyel


Cello Concerto n°1 - Sonata for celle and piano op. 40

Dmitri Shostakovich

Cello Concerto n°1 - Sonata for celle and piano op. 40

Harmonia Mundi, 2015

Emmanuelle Bertrand cello
Pascal Amoyel piano
BBC National Orchestra of Wales, dir. Pascal Rophé

Here are two masterpieces for cello by Shostakovich, written 25 years apart. The insolent Sonata op.40 of 1934 – contemporary with Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District, the opera soon to plunge its composer into disgrace with Stalin – was answered in 1959 by the bitter self-questioning of an artist who seemed to have sunk into depression. This Cello Concerto ends with a wicked caricature of true joy, adding the final touch to the extreme polymorphism of a traumatised humorist who had long since learned not to laugh . . .


Cello concerto n°1 in E-flat, op. 107 
Sonata for cello and piano in d, op. 40
Moderato for cello and piano


Bertrand Dermoncourt, Classica, 2013

Dans cette œuvre de jeunesse, Emmanuelle Bertrand et son habituel complice Pascal Amoyel ont choisi les options les plus intimistes, les phrasés les plus souples, les échanges les plus délicats, à l’opposé d’une certaine tradition qui tire la partition, peut-être à tort, vers des états plus amers.

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website you are giving consent to cookies being used.